Statistics by Subject

Finding Statistical Information/Subject Listing

 

Key Statistical Databases & Reference Sources:

Business and Trade
Stat USA

A service of the U.S. Department of Commerce this database is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government.

Comprehensive Statistics
Statistical Universe

A Lexis-Nexis group database for searching U.S. government statistical sources, state governments and privately published statistical sources or international intergovernmental statistical sources. It includes statistical tables, LexisNexis, American Statistics Index (from 1973) and table by LexisNexis, Academic & Library Solutions indexers.

United States: General
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The classic one volume work summarizing the United States statistically.
The latest version is now available online with downloadable PDF files.

Uncle Sam's Reference Shelf
A site featuring some of the Census Bureau's key statistical sources.

Crime
International Comparative Crime Statistics
A Superb Site for obtaining comparative crime information.

Financial / International
International financial statistics. Country notes / International Monetary Fund
Washington: International Monetary Fund, 2003. Ref. HG3881 .I6262

International Country Stats:
CIA World Factbook:
A superb quick reference source; comparative data, statistical country profiles, and much more.

International: Comparative Country Data:
Columbia International Affairs Online provides excellent comparative statistical data on countries world wide. From the homepage choose "country/maps" from the menu options on the left.

Annual Reviews
Publishes 29 series covering three major fields, including sociology as well as a number of special publications and Web based projects every year. These purpose of these publications are to record the major innovations and progress of research topics occurring in these disciplines.

General Databases:

Article First
A multidisciplinary database covering a wide variety of topics and fields.

JSTOR
A database which provides searching of a small number of excellent core journals in sociology as well as in other fields. Full-text PDF access.

Proquest
Mostly full-text access to scores of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines, including sociology. In most instances, you should narrow your search by flagging the option for scholarly or peer-reviewed journals only.

Primary Statistical Sources:

ICPSR (Intercollegiate Center for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. This is a valuable online storehouse of downloadable data from surveys and qualitative research.

 


Return to Subject Guides