Russian Research Guide

|
|
|

For subject assistance contact: Mara Degnan-Rojeski, Liaison Librarian, 245-1849.

The Library of Congress Classification System, which is the call number system utilized for locating and organizing library resources, breaks Russian Studies down into these areas:

G - Geography broken down by country
H - Social Sciences (statistics, economic history & conditions) broken down by country
JQ - Political Science (political institutions and public administration for Asia)
KL-KWX - Asian and Eurasian law
PG 1 - 9665 - Slavic Language and Literature

Look at the Library of Congress Classification System Outline for more information.

More research help:

What is Plagiarism?
Citation Styles
Evaluating Resources
What is a Scholarly Journal?
Primary vs. Secondary Resources

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases, Thesaurus, and more...

How to search the library catalog:

Combine terminologies: (Russia or Russian) and dictionary
Use general language: Russia and encyclopedia
Limit the location to the reference desk

Examples of key Russian reference resources we own:

Handbook of Russian literature / edited by Victor Terras. New Haven: Yale, 1985. Reference PF5934 .F72

Russian prose writers after World War II / edited by Christine Rydel. Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2005. Reference PN523 .D5 v.302

Russia : a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present / Mauricio Borrero. New York: Facts on File, 2004. Reference DK36 .B59 2004

Encyclopedia of Russian women's movements / edited by Norma Corigliano Noonan and Carol Nechemias. Westport: Greenwood Press, 2001. Reference HQ1665.15 .E5 2001

Slovar' ´i`azyka russkikh zhestov / S.A. Grigor'eva, N.V. Grigor'ev, G.E. Kreidlin. < Moskva : ´I`Azyki russkoi kul'tury, 2001. Reference P117.5 .R9 G75 2001

Russian novelists in the age of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky / edited by J. Alexander Ogden and Judith E. Kalb. Detroit: Gale Group, 2001. Reference PN523 .D5 v.238

The republics and regions of the Russian Federation : a guide to politics, policies, and leaders / edited by Robert W. Orttung with Danielle N. Lussier and Anna Paretskaya. Armonk: M.E. Sharpe, 2000. Reference JN6699 .A88 R47 2000

The Oxford Russian dictionary / Russian-English, edited by Marcus Wheeler and Boris Unbegaun ; English-Russian, edited by Paul Falla ; revised and updated by Della Thompson. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000. Reference PG2640 .W5 2000

Atlas narodov rossi dl´i`a shkol'nika / [actor-sost. Bot´i`akova Ol'ga Anatol'evna]. (Atlas of Russia) Sankt-Petersburg: Olma Press, 2000. Reference G2140 .A85 2000

The BFI companion to Eastern European and Russian cinema / edited by Richard Taylor ... [et al.] London: BFI Pub, 2000. Reference PN1993.5 .E2 B44 2000

Idee w Rosji = Idei v Rossii = Ideas in Russia : leksykon rosyjsko-polsko-angielski / pod redakcj¸a Andrzeja de Lazari. Warszawa: Semper, 1999. Reference B4201 .I34 1999

Historical dictionary of Russia / Boris Raymond and Paul Duffy. Lanham: Scarecrow Press, 1998. Reference DK36 .R39 1998

Encyclopedia of Russian & Slavic myth and legend / Mike Dixon-Kennedy. Santa-Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1998. Reference BL930 .D58 1998

The Encyclopedia of propaganda / editor, Robert Cole ; foreword by Philip M. Taylor. New York: M.E. Sharpe, 1998. Reference HM263 .E53 1998

Last updated: 6/25/2008