History Pathfinder: Russia/Soviet Union



Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases, including Historical Abstracts, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library.

Print:

ABREES: Abstracts Russian and East European Series
REF Z2483 .A2 1993


Electronic:

ABSEES Online
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies covers journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada. The subject areas include Anthropology, Ethnology, and Archaeology; Culture and the Arts; Economics and Foreign Trade; Education and Scholarship; Geography and Demography; Government, Law, and Politics; History; International Relations; Language and Linguistics; Literature; Military Affairs; Philosophy, Political Theory, and Ideology; Psychology; Religion; Science and Technology; Sociology; and Women's Studies. This database covers material published from 1990 to the present. There is also a print version available, called ABSEES , which spans 1970-1992 and then changed the print title to ABREES , spanning 1993 to the present. The print version's call number is REF Z2483.A2.

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an electronic index to the world's scholarly literature on modern history. It covers materials treating all aspects of history from 1450 to the present, excluding the history of the United States and Canada. This region is covered in a companion work, America: History & Life . It provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles in books, periodical articles and dissertations. It does not include book reviews. All branches of world history are included with substantial coverage of related subject areas. Articles are abstracted from over 1,700 journals published in over 50 languages. While this is a truly international index, fifty percent of the items are in English. Historical Abstracts currently includes entries for over 500,000 items published from 1971 to the present. It corresponds to the printed index of the same name which extends coverage back to 1955, and is available for use in the library.

Humanities Full Text
Covers journal articles in the humanities, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, and religion.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Lexis-Nexis
Lexis Nexis will provide you with full-text from newspapers around the world, for up to the past ten years.

Project Muse
Project Muse covers numerous subject fields in the humanities, the social sciences, and the arts, including history. Journals covered by Project Muse are scholarly and peer-reviewed, published by a not-for-profit press or scholarly society, and be a sensible fit with titles in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts.

ProQuest
ProQuest is a good index to use in the beginning stages of your research project. It is an index that covers major journals in English and many other subjects in which Dickinson College offers a major. It offers access to thousands of periodicals and newspapers, many of which are supplied full-text. ProQuest supplies both scholarly and non-scholarly resources. See your librarian for tips on how to narrow to scholarly topics.

WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.




Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. SSearch the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.

Electronic:

Country Studies/Area Handbooks
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army.

 

Print:

General: The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian, Soviet and Eurasian History
REF DK36 .M55 1976
  Encyclopedia of Russian History: From the Christianization of Kiev to the Break-up of the U.S.S.R.
REF DK36 .P39 1993
  The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union
REF DK14 .C35 1994
  Historical Dictionary of Russia
REF DK36 .R39 1998
  Russia: A Reference Guide from the Renaissance to the Present
REF DK36 .B59 2004
   
Soviet: Great Soviet Encyclopedia
REF AE5 .B5813
  Key Facts in Soviet History
REF DK266 .D39 1990
   
   
Russian Revolution: Dictionary of the Russian Revolution
REF DK265 .D49 1989
  The Blackwell Encyclopedia of the Russian Revolution
REF DK265 .B54 1988
  Critical Companion to the Russian Revolution, 1914-1921
REF DK265 .C68 1997
   
   
Former Soviet States: The Territories of the Russian Federation
REF DK293 .T47 1999
  The Republics and Regions of the Russian Federation: A Guide to Politics, Policies, and Leaders
REF JN6699 .A88 R47 2000
  Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States
REF DK1.5 .R876 1996
  Russia and the Commonwealth A to Z
REF DK286 .W5513 1992
  Miniature Empires: A Historical Dictionary of the Newly Independent States
REF D860 .M55 1998
   
   
Miscellaneous: Moscow and St. Petersburg
REF DK597 .B37 1994
  The Russian Far East
REF DK771 .D3 A98 1995
  The Access Guide to Ethnic Conflicts in Europe and the Former Soviet Union
REF Z674.5 .E8 A33 1994
  The Modern Encyclopedia of Religions in Russia and the Soviet Union
REF BL940 .S65 M63 1988

 


Biographies

Print:

Who's Who in Russia and the New States
REF CT1203 .W47 1993

Who Was Who in the Soviet Union
REF DK290 .W49 1992

A Biographical Dictionary of the Soviet Union, 1917-1988
REF CT1213 .V76 1988

Biographical Dictionary of Dissidents in the Soviet Union, 1956-1975
REF DK275 .A1 B56 1982

Electronic:

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is the first place you should look when seeking biographical information on any living or deceased person worldwide. It is an electronic index to over 13 million biographical entries in 3,400+ biographical reference works.

 

 

Bibliographies

Archives of Russia: A Directory and Bibliographic Guide to Holdings in Moscow and St. Petersburg
REF CD1710 .A76 2000

Official Publications of the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1945-1980: A Select Annotated Bibliography
REF J397 .O34 1982

Russia and Eastern Europe: A Bibliographic Guide to English-Language Publications, 1992-1999
REF DJK9 .S86 2001

 

 

Atlases/Maps

The Penguin Historical Atlas of Russia
REF DK38 .C4 1995

Atlas of Russia and the Independent Republics
REF G2110 .B7 1994

Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Soviet Union
REF DK32 .M62 1989




Statistics

Russia & Eurasia Facts & Figures Annual
REF HA1446 .U17 1993

Soviet Statistics Since 1950
REF HA1444 .P63 1991

The East European and Soviet data Handbook: Political, Social, and Developmental Indicators, 1945-1975
REF HA1446 .S53 1981

Statistical Handbook: States of the Former USSR
REF HA1444 .S72 1992


Newspapers

Lexis-Nexis will help you find newspaper articles from around the world in English and other languages. Ask a librarian for assistance.


Primary Resources

Russia & Eurasia Documents Annual
REF DK293 .R97 1992