History Pathfinder: Middle Ages

Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases, including America: History & Life, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library .

Print:

An Annotated Index of Medieval Women
REF CT3220 .A56 1992

Electronic:

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers materials treating all aspects of world history, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.

Humanities Full Text
Covers journal articles in the humanities, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, and religion.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700 C.E.). Includes citations for books, journal articles, and essays in books.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Project Muse
Search journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.


Women in the Middle Ages

REF HQ1143. W643 2004

The Routledge Companion to Medieval Warfare
REF U37 .B63 2004

Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia
REF DS124 .M386 2003

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia
REF DG443 .M43 2003

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia
REF DA129 .M43 1998

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
REF DC33.2 .M44 1995

The Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
REF D114 .B86 1995

Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia
REF DL30 .M43 1993

Medieval Studies: An Introduction
REF D116 .M4 1992

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
REF D114 .D5 1982

The High Middle Ages in England, 1154-1377
REF DA205 .W54 1978

Chronology of the Medieval World: 800 to 1491
REF D118 .S855 1973B

The Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Renewal, 1300-1500
REF CB353 .L38 2001

Chronology of European History, 15,000 B.C. to 1996
REF D11 .C57 1997

 

Biographies

Print:

Who's Who in the Middle Ages
REF D115 .F5 1971

Research Guide to European Historical Biography, 1450-Present
REF CT759 .R47 1992

Electronic:

Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of people who shaped the British Isles.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is the first place you should look when seeking biographical information on any living or deceased person worldwide. It is an electronic index to over 13 million biographical entries in 3,400+ biographical reference works.

 

Bibliographies

Literature of Medieval History
REF D117 .P25 1981

 

Atlases/Maps

The Times Atlas of European History
REF G1797.21 .S1 T5 1994

Augsburg Historical Atlas of Christianity in the Middle Ages and Reformation
REF G1796 .E4 A5 1967

 

Primary Resources

Print:
Medieval Narrative Sources: A Chronological Guide
REF D113 .B33 1987

 

Electronic:
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Documents in law, history and diplomacy. From B.C. through the 21st century.

 

 

 

Websites

The following websites have been evaluated for you and may supplement your research in medieval history.

Labyrinth
Gateway to resources for Medieval Studies sponsored by Georgetown University. Includes primary and secondary resources, images, and maps.

Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies (ORB)
Created by the College of Staten Island, City University of New York. Contains essays, bibliographies, and links to full-text translations of medieval documents.


Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Hosted by Fordham University. Consits of the full-text, sometimes annotated, of medieval documents.


Online Medieval and Classical Library
A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization, hosted by the University of California-Berkley. The transcribed documents are annotated and include bibliographies.

Voice of the Shuttle: Anglo-Saxon and Medieval
Includes transcriptions of medieval literature, authors and anonymous works, manuscripts, criticism , dictionaries, journals, conference and professional information, and fonts for display of Old English. The Voice of the Shuttle is a website for humanities research maintained by the University of California at Santa Barbara.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Public domain religious and theological works from Calvin College. Includes the writings of Augustine, Crysostom, Ambrose, and Anselm. Also includes homilies of priests of the Nicene period.