News & Events
History Pathfinder: Nineteenth Century Europe
An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases, including Historical Abstracts, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library .
Historical Abstracts covers materials treating all aspects of world history, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
Covers journal articles in the humanities, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, and religion.
and Social Sciences Retrospective
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.
The History of Europe
REF D20 .H57 2002
European Political Facts, 1789-1848
REF JN10 .C65 1981
Historical Dictionary of Napoleonic France, 1799-1815
REF DC201 .H673 1985
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to
REF HN373 .E63 2001
Research Guide to European Historical Biography, 1450-Present
REF CT759 .R47 1992
of National Biography
Biographies of people who shaped the British Isles.
and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is the first place you should look when seeking biographical information on any living or deceased person worldwide. It is an electronic index to over 13 million biographical entries in 3,400+ biographical reference works.
The Era of Napoleon: A Bibliography of the History of
Western Civilization, 1799-1815
REF CB411 .C35 1990
An Annotated Bibliography of the Napoleonic Era
REF DC201 .M49 1987
Chronology of European History, 15,000 B.C. to 1996
REF D11 .C57 1997
The Penguin Atlas of Recent History, Europe Since 1815
REF G1035 .M3 1982
The Times Atlas of European History
REF G1797.21 .S1 T5 1994
Concise Historical Atlas of Eastern Europe
REF G2081. S1 H8 1996
Historical Atlas of East Central Europe
REF G2081. S1 M3 1993
International Historical Statistics : Europe, 1750-1993
REF HA1107.M5 1998
The London Times is available in the library's collection
from 1788. Early editions are kept on microfilm. Ask a librarian
Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Documents in law, history and diplomacy. From B.C. through the 21st century.