History Pathfinder: Africa




Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases, including America: History & Life, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library .

Electronic:

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an electronic index to the world's scholarly literature on modern history. It covers materials treating all aspects of history from 1450 to the present, excluding the history of the United States and Canada. This region is covered in a companion work, America: History & Life . It provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles in books, periodical articles and dissertations. It does not include book reviews. All branches of world history are included with substantial coverage of related subject areas. Articles are abstracted from over 1,700 journals published in over 50 languages. While this is a truly international index, fifty percent of the items are in English. Historical Abstracts currently includes entries for over 500,000 items published from 1971 to the present. It corresponds to the printed index of the same name which extends coverage back to 1955, and is available for use in the library.

AfricaBib
The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database).


Digital Imaging Project of South Africa
South African serial literature of high socio-political interest. Covers anti-apartheid periodicals published during from 1960 to 1994. Approximately thirty-nine periodical titles have been selected from a very comprehensive list, presenting not only a wide spectrum of political views published during these years, other subjects such as trade unions, religion, health, culture, and gender. Publications reflecting both black and white viewpoints are included, and an attempt has been made to represent distinctive regional variations. Some of the publications were short-lived and, by necessity, of limited distribution. These factors lend a certain rarity value in that the publications are generally not well represented in research collections.


Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research project with partners in Toronto (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe. Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books.

WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.

Print:

Index Islamicus
REF DS44 .Q34

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.

Electronic:

Country Studies/Area Handbooks
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army.

 

Print:

Encyclopedia of African History & Culture
REF DT3 .P27 2005

Europa World Yearbook
REF JN1. E85 2005

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
REF G63 .W67 1995

Africa Contemporary Record
REF DT1. L43 1998-2000

African History on File
REF DT20 .A6194 1994

The Black Handbook: The People, History, and Politics of Africa and the African Diaspora
REF DT20 .B86 1997

Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa: Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments
REF DT2 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
REF DT351 .E53 1997

Africa
REF DT31 .B395 1996

South Africa
REF DT753 .D38 1994

The United States in Africa: A Historical Dictionary
REF DT38.1 .S53 1989

The United States and Africa: Guide to U.S. Official Documents and Government-Sponsored Publications on Africa, 1785-1975
REF DT3 .W57 1978



Biographies

Print:

An African Biographical Dictionary
REF DT18 .B76 1994

Political Leaders of Contemporary Africa South of the Sahara: A Biographical Dictionary
REF DT352.8 .P63 1992

Dictionary of African Historical Biography
REF DT352.6 .L56 1986

Africa Who's Who
REF CT1920. A37 1981


Electronic:

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is the first place you should look when seeking biographical information on any living or deceased person worldwide. It is an electronic index to over 13 million biographical entries in 3,400+ biographical reference works.

 


Bibliographies

Northern Africa : A Guide To Reference And Information Sources
REF DT185 .S57 2000

Africa : A Guide To Reference Material
REF DT3 .M3 1992

Africa Bibliography
REF DT3 .A37


Newspapers

Lexis-Nexis will help you find newspaper articles from around the world. Ask a librarian for assistance.

Atlases/Maps

Maps on File
REF G1021 .M33



Statistics

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993
REF HA4675 .M552 1998

Africa at a Glance, 1992: Facts and Figures
REF DT5 .A35 1992

African Development Indicators
REF HC800 .A5653 1992 1997