Country Studies Subject Guide

Finding Journal Articles

If you have a topic and need to locate journal articles:

  • Pick a database from our Database List page, or use one listed below.

If you already have a journal citation, complete with journal title, see Finding Journals

Key Country Studies Databases:

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.

PAIS Archives (Public Affairs Information Services)
A retrospective database chronicling global public policy and social issues. (1915-1972).

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A major source for theory and research in international affairs including economic information, and map and country data.

Historical Abstracts
The database covers materials treating all aspects of world history, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. The U.S. and Canada are covered in the companion database, America: History & Life.

Social Science Abstracts
A valuable index provides indexing and abstracting of articles in the social sciences, including national social, political, and economic cocerns.

General Databases:

Article First
A multidisciplinary database covering a wide variety of topics and fields.

JSTOR
A database which provides searching of a small number of excellent core journals in sociology as well as in other fields. Full-text PDF access.

Lexis-Nexis - Academic Universe
A major database for up-to-date news covering many parts of the world.

Project Muse
A major database covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Full-text.

Proquest
Mostly full-text access to scores of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines, including anthropology. In most instances, you should narrow your search by flagging the option for scholarly or peer-reviewed journals only.

Primary Sources:

ICPSR (Intercollegiate Center for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. This is a valuable online storehouse of ownloadable data from surveys and qualitative research.

World News Connection
A news translation service produced by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) for the U.S. Foreign Broadcast Service, a government agency which monitors and translates newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, and official statements of foreign governments.


International Studies Department Webpage