Biology Databases:
Biological Abstracts
Indexes articles from more than 3,700 journals that focus on life science topics. Archival records are available from 1926. Part of "Web of Knowledge". You can simultaneously search Biological Abstracts and Science Citation Index (in Web of Science) by choosing the "All databases" tab.
Biological & Agricultural Index
Articles and other scholarly material published in the leading publications in agriculture, biology, forestry, and ecology. Includes a wide range of popular and professional journals about biology and agriculture.
BioOne
BioOne provides access to resources of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.
AGRICOLA
An electronic index to over 3 million citations to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions.
Annual Reviews
Publishes 29 series covering three major fields: Biomedical Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences as well as a number of special publications and Web based projects every year. These purpose of these publications are to record the major innovations and progress of research topics occurring in these disciplines.
PubMed
Includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.
General Science Databases:
Web of Science
Provides cited references to social science and science materials. Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Science Citation Index Expanded from 1965 - present. Part of "Web of Knowledge". You can simultaneously search Biological Abstracts and Science Citation Index (in Web of Science) by choosing the "All databases" tab.
General Science Full Text
A general science database that covers everything from supernovas to marine pollution. A good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics.
ScienceDirect
A large electronic collection of science, technology and medicine information.
SciFinder Scholar
NOTE: Available to current Dickinson affiliates only. FIRST TIME USERS must register to search this database. Contact the Sciences Liaison Librarian for information on how to register. scifinder publishes the latest scientific breakthroughs. It is the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information with references from more than 10,000 currently published journals and patents from more than 61 patent authorities. Includes important scientific discoveries from the mid-1800s to the present. Allows searching on more than 56 million organic and inorganic substances by chemical structures, biological sequences, substructures or reactions. |