Locating Newspaper Articles

For additional assistance Ask a Librarian

  • Current Newspapers
  • Historical Newspapers
  •     

Some direct links and RSS feeds to popular newspapers:

Pennsylvania National International

Evening Sun (Hanover) RSS

Gettysburg Times RSS

Morning Call (Allentown) RSS

New Pittsburgh Courier

Patriot-News (Harrisburg)

Philadelphia Inquirer RSS

Philadelphia Daily News RSS

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette RSS

The Sentinel (Carlisle) RSS

Boston (MA) Globe RSS

Chicago (IL) Tribune RSS

Christian Science Monitor (Boston, MA) RSS

Houston (TX) Chronicle RSS

Los Angeles (CA) Times RSS

New York (NY) Times RSS

Wall Street Journal
(New York, NY) - Print Only

Washington (DC) Post

 

Ad-Dustour (Jordan)

Al-Ahram (Egypt)

Asahi Shimbum
(Tokyo, JPN)
RSS

Asharg Al-Awsat (London, UK) RSS

The Guardian
(London, UK)
RSS

Hindustan Times
(New Delhi, IND)
RSS

Jerusalem (ISR) Post RSS

London (UK) Times

Le Monde
(Paris, FRA)

People's Daily

(Beijing, CHN) RSS

Die Zeit
(Hamburg, GER)
RSS

Yomiuri Shimbun

 

Additional Links

Online Newspapers is a website that provides links to current newspapers from countries throughout the world.

 

Databases
Newspaper articles are a type of periodical and can be located using an index, or database. The following databases are great for locating newspaper articles:


Newspaper Source Plus
More than 850 national and international newspapers, plus 870,000+ television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS.
• Coverage Range: Mid 1990s-present
• Full-Text


Lexis-Nexis - Academic Universe
Access to hundreds of newspaper s from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information.
• Years of Publication: Coverage varies but generally 1980s to current
• Full-Text


World News Connection
A news translation service produced by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) for the U.S. Foreign Broadcast Service, a government agency which monitors and translates newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, and official statements of foreign governments.
• Years of Publication: 1994 to present
• Full-Text
• 5 Simultaneous Users

Citations
If you already have a newspaper citation, and need to locate the article, use the following steps:

1. Search the Journal Locator using the title of the newspaper
2. If your newspaper is not listed in the results, search the library catalog
3. If not available in the library catalog, use ILLiad to request the article from another library.
4. Still having trouble? Ask a Librarian for help.

 

 

Updated Aug. 17, 2012

Some links to historical newspapers:

National Pennsylvania

Boston Globe (1872-1979)

Chicago Defender (1910-1975)

Chicago Tribune (1849-1988)

Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)

New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)

New York Times (1851-2008)

Washington Post (1877-1995)

Pittsburgh Corrier (1911-2002)

Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800)

International

London Times Digital Archives (1785-2006)

People's Daily of China (1946-2005)

Sunday Times Digital Archive (London) (1822-2006)

Yomiuri Shimbun (1874 to present)


Databases
Newspaper articles are a type of periodical and can be located using an index, or database. The following databases are great for locating historical newspaper articles:


19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full runs (where possible) of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Cross-searchable with other collections via NewsVault.
• Coverage Range: 1800-1900
• Full-Textt

 

Accessible Archives
Full-text access to a number of American 19th-century journals and newspapers. Special African-American, Civil War and Pennsylvania coverage.
• Years of Publication: 19th-century
• Full-Text

Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Chronicling America provides full-text access to a variety of American newspapers from 1860-1922.
• Years of Publication: 1860-1922
• Full-Text

Google News Archive Search
Use Google to search news archives and generate timelines based on historical events.
• Years of Publication: Varies
• Full-Text


Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable, full-text copies of articles and images from the Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; Boston Globe; Chicago Tribune; Los Angeles Sentinel; New York Amsterdam News; Pittsburgh Courier; The Chicago Defender; The New York Times; The Washington Post. Coverage varies by paper but goes back as far as 1851.
• Coverage Range: 1851-2005
• Full-Textt

New York Times Historical
The New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
• Years of Publication: 1851-2005
• Full-Text

NewsVault
Allow for cross-searching of 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Listener Historical Archive, Times (London) Digital Archive.
• Coverage Range: 19th and 20th centuries
• Full-Text

London Times Digital Archives
The oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication, providing in-depth, award-winning and objective coverage of world events. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest: in business, humanities, political science, philosophy and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events. Cross-searchable with other collections via NewsVault.
• Coverage Range: 1785-2006
• Full-Text


Sunday Times Digital Archive (London) (1822-2006)
Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.
• Coverage Range: 1822-2006

• Full-Text


Yomidas Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shimbun)
NOTE: access restricted to 3 simultaneous users

Over 11 million articles from every issue of Japan’s major newspaper, The yomiuri Shimbun. In four parts: 1) The Meiji, Taisho and Showa Eras section (1874-1989), 2) The Heisei Era section (September 1986 onwards),  3) The Daily yomiuri section (September 1989 onwards), and 4) The Contemporary Who’s Who, with searchable biographical data and articles on over 26,000 prominent individuals. Includes photos, images, advertisements. Search in Japanese or English. English versions of modern articles are available.


Citations
If you already have a newspaper citation, and need to locate the article, use the following steps:
1. Search the Journal Locator using the title of the newspaper
2. If your newspaper is not listed in the results, search the library catalog
3. If not available in the library catalog, use ILLiad to request the article from another library.
4. Still having trouble? Ask a Librarian for help.

 

last update: Aug. 17, 2012