Waidner--Spahr Library
News & Events
Research Essentials
- What is a Good Source?
- Primary and Secondary Resources
- How to Start Looking for Sources
- Keeping Track of Your Searches
- Expanding or Narrowing Your Search
Historians need good sources regardless of where they are found. When doing historical research, or any type of research for that matter, it is important to consult a variety of sources, including print and digital. On-line resources are quick and convenient in that they can be accessed outside the library, but they do not represent the complete range of information available in any historical discipline. Many of the rich resources owned by the Library, both primary and secondary, are available in print. A librarian can help you locate appropriate resources for your topic. Please note that we have purposefully not separated out print documents from digital or web sources.
Good researchers don't ignore a possible location or lead. Some sources you discover may not be available in Dickinson's collection. When beginning the research process, be sure to build in enough time to order materials through Interlibrary Loan .
A good historian is defined by the willingness and ability to follow leads and being able to quickly evaluate a source for its reliability and usefulness. Clues to important and reliable information come from many places. Secondary sources are often good places to start the reserach project, as their footnotes and bibliographies can provide you with leads to primary sources and other important secondary works.
Primary and Secondary Resources
A primary source is an account by an eyewitness or the first
recorder of an event - or documents produced at the time an
event occurred. A primary source may be printed or electronic
material and can include diaries, letters, memoirs, personal
papers, public documents, field research reports, minutes
of meetings, news footage, newspaper articles, speeches, oral
histories. Primary source material can also include creative
works such as poetry, music, or art, and artifacts such as
stone points, pottery, furniture, and buildings. Dickinson
College owns primary material in fields such as Native American
and scientific history, and also has many indexes and databases
which will help you locate primary material.
A secondary source is a document which is derived from, or
based on, study and analysis of primary sources. These are
works that are not original manuscripts or contemporary records,
but which critique, comment on, or build upon these primary
sources. They nterpret and analyze primary sources and provide
the background necessary to understand the primary sources.
A secondary source may be printed or electronic material and
can include reviews, criticism, editorials, analyses, encyclopedias,
textbooks, histories, and commentaries. Most scholarly journal
articles are secondary sources which provide analysis, interpretation,
or evaluation.
How to Start
Looking for Sources
Keywords
Developing a list of keywords for your project is vital for
your bibliographic search, for your note taking and for shaping
your final paper. A keyword is simply an important word or
short phrase relating to your research. Keywords can be a
person's name, a place, an organization or a subject. You
can often use keywords to conduct a search of the library's
catalog, electronic databases, or printed indexes. As you
begin to reseearch your topic, you will discover additional
keywords that describe your subject. Some words may no longer
be in popular use (such as "Great War" for World War I or
"War Between the States" for the Civil War), but may at one
time have been standard. Such words or phrases will be important
when you attempt to find older resources.
Subject Headings
A subject heading is a specific word or phrase used to find
and organize books and articles by topic. Subject headings
are different from keywords in that they are specific terms
assigned to a subject by an organization. For example, the
Library of Congress supplies subject headings for books owned
by Dickinson College (and other libraries), and the company
that provides Historical Abstracts supplies subject headings
for the articles indexed in that database.
These subject headings, also known as subject descriptors,
may not be what you would expect. You might, for instance,
go to our catalog and search for autobiographies and the Civil
War. But the Library of Congress uses the term Personal Narrative
instead of autobiography.
Library of Congress Subject headings can often be found on the page of a book that provides the publisher's information. The subject heading can then be used to search for a book or article when copied exactly as printed. Another way to figure out what the key words or subject descriptors are for your subject would be to enter the title of a book on the subject that is in our library. Then look at the bottom of the record and find the subject descriptors.
In the library catalog and many electronic databases, an items's subject(s) will be hyperlinked, so that you can click on the subject heading to find similar items. You also might want to note the exact words for future use.
This is an example of a book in the library catalog with numerous subject headings:
Personal author: Dyer, Christopher, 1944-
Title: Making a living in the middle ages : the people of
Britain 850-1520 / Christopher Dyer.
Publication info: New Haven : Yale University Press, c2002.
Physical description: x, 403 p. : ill., maps ; 25 cm.
Series: (The new economic history of Britain)
General note: Paperback edition.
Bibliography note: Includes bibliographical references (p.
[366]-389) and index.
Subject: Cities and towns--Great Britain--History--To
1500.
Subject: Social classes--Great Britain--History--To 1500.
Subject: Social change--Great Britain--History--to 1500.
Subject: Working class--Great Britain--History--To 1500.
Subject: Industries--Great Britain--History--To 1500.
Subject: Middle Ages.
Subject: Great Britain--Economic conditions.
Subject: Great Britain--History--Medieval period, 1066-1485.
Subject: Great Britain--Population--History--To 1500.
Subject: England--Economic conditions--1066-1485.
Subject: England--Social conditions--1066-1485.
Subject: Scotland--Economic conditions.
Subject: Wales--Economic conditions.
Subject: Great Britain--Social conditions.
Keeping
Track of Your Searches
As you begin your research project take a moment and think
about how to keep careful records of where you have searched
(what catalog or database) and with what keywords. The system
needs to be flexible and dynamic since your project may change
focus and you need to adapt. What you want to avoid is repeating
work (since you may not remember doing a search 1 month later)
or leaving a hole in your research (e.g., by searching a database
or site early on with one idea and then never returning after
you have changed directions). You also need good recordkeeping
from the start in order to keep track of your citations!
Expanding
or Narrowing Your Search
Words such as AND, OR, and NOT are used to combine search
terms to broaden or narrow a search in an electronic database.
AND will narrow your search; for example, the search "cats
AND dogs" returns items that contain both the terms cats and
dogs (both terms must appear in the record). OR will broaden
your search; for example, the search "cats OR dogs" will return
items that contain either the term cat or the term dog - both
not necessarily both. NOT will exclude specific items, thereby
narrowing your search slightly. For example, the search "David
Eisenhower NOT book review" will exclude any book reviews
written by or about David Eisenhower, but will include any
other books or articles written by or about him.