History Pathfinder: Middle East


 


Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases, including Historical Abstracts, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library .


Electronic:

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an electronic index to the world's scholarly literature on modern history. It covers materials treating all aspects of history from 1450 to the present, excluding the history of the United States and Canada. This region is covered in a companion work, America: History & Life . It provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles in books, periodical articles and dissertations. It does not include book reviews. All branches of world history are included with substantial coverage of related subject areas. Articles are abstracted from over 1,700 journals published in over 50 languages. While this is a truly international index, fifty percent of the items are in English. Historical Abstracts currently includes entries for over 500,000 items published from 1971 to the present. It corresponds to the printed index of the same name which extends coverage back to 1955, and is available for use in the library.


Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research project with partners in Toronto (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe. Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books.


Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Covers the time period 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613.

Humanities Full Text
Covers journal articles in the humanities, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, and religion.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Lexis-Nexis
Lexis Nexis will provide you with full-text from newspapers around the world, for up to the past ten years.

Project Muse
Project Muse covers numerous subject fields in the humanities, the social sciences, and the arts, including history. Journals covered by Project Muse are scholarly and peer-reviewed, published by a not-for-profit press or scholarly society, and be a sensible fit with titles in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts.

ProQuest
ProQuest is a good index to use in the beginning stages of your research project. It is an index that covers major journals in English and many other subjects in which Dickinson College offers a major. It offers access to thousands of periodicals and newspapers, many of which are supplied full-text. ProQuest supplies both scholarly and non-scholarly resources. See your librarian for tips on how to narrow to scholarly topics.

WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.


Print:

Index Islamicus
REF DS44 .Q34

 

 



Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.

Electronic:

Country Studies/Area Handbooks
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army.

 

Print:

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
REF DS43. E53 2004

Dictionary of the Ancient Near East
REF DS56 .D5 2000

Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalist Movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey
REF BP60 .M36 1999

The Middle East/Congressional Quaterly, Inc.
REF DS63.1 .M484 2000

Encyclopedia of the Middle East Peace Process
REF DS119.76 .R67 1997

Dictionary of the Middle East
REF DS43 .H57 1996B

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa
REF DS44 .C37 1988


The Middle East, Abstracts and Index
REF DS41 .M44

The Middle East and North Africa
Europa Publications Limited.
REF DS49 .M5

Historical Dictionary of Iraq
REF DS70.9. G47 2004

 

 



Biographies

Print:

The Biographical Dictionary of the Middle East
REF DS62.4 .S53 1991

Electronic:

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is the first place you should look when seeking biographical information on any living or deceased person worldwide. It is an electronic index to over 13 million biographical entries in 3,400+ biographical reference works.

 

 



Bibliographies

Middle East Bibliography
REF DS44 .S54 1992


 


Newspapers

Lexis-Nexis will help you find newspaper articles from around the world. Ask a librarian for assistance.


 


Atlases/Maps

Print:

Historical Atlas of the Middle East
REF G2206 .S1 F7 1993

Atlas of the Middle East / Central Intelligence Agency
REF G2205 .U45 1993

Online:

Holy Land Maps
From the Eran Laor Cartographic Collection

 

 

Websites

The Middle East Institute
Since 1946 the Middle East Institute has been an important conduit of information between Middle Eastern nations and American policymakers, organizations and the public.