History Pathfinder: Late 20th Century Europe



Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases, including Historical Abstracts, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library .


Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers materials treating all aspects of world history, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.

Humanities Full Text
Covers journal articles in the humanities, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, and religion.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Project Muse
Search journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.

 


 



Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.

Electronic:

Country Studies/Area Handbooks
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army.

Print:

Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia
REF D1058 .E8754 2001

Chronology of European History, 15,000 B.C. to 1996
REF D11 .C57 1997

European History on File
REF D57 .E88 1996

A Dictionary of European History and Politics, 1945-1995
REF D1051 .U78 1996

The Columbia Dictionary of European Political History Since 1914
REF D424 .C65 1992

The Cold War, 1945-1991
REF D839.5 .C65 1992

The History of Europe
REF D20 .H57 2002

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
REF HN373 .E63 2001




Biographies

Print:

Research Guide to European Historical Biography, 1450-Present
REF CT759 .R47 1992

Electronic:

Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of people who shaped the British Isles.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is the first place you should look when seeking biographical information on any living or deceased person worldwide. It is an electronic index to over 13 million biographical entries in 3,400+ biographical reference works.


 

Atlases/Maps

The Penguin Atlas of Recent History, Europe Since 1815
REF G1035 .M3 1982

The Times Atlas of European History
REF G1797.21 .S1 T5 1994

Atlas of Eastern Europe
REF G2080. U5 1990

Concise Historical Atlas of Eastern Europe
REF G2081. S1 H8 1996

Historical Atlas of East Central Europe
REF G2081. S1 M3 1993

 


 

 

Statistics

International Historical Statistics : Europe, 1750-1993
REF HA1107.M5 1998


 



Primary Resources and Newspapers

Print:

Europe Transformed: Documents on the End of the Cold War
REF D849 .F685 1990

Lexis-Nexis and World News Connection will help you find newspaper articles from around the world. Ask a librarian for assistance.

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Documents in law, history and diplomacy. From B.C. through the 21st century.

 

 


 

 

Websites

Imperial War Museum Online
London. Collection covers all aspects of twentieth and twenty-first century conflict involving Britain and the Commonwealth.