History Pathfinder: U.S. Early 20th Century History

Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases, including America: History & Life, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library .


America: History and Life
Covers scholarly literature on United States and Canadian history. Materials treating all aspects of history from prehistoric times to the present. The rest of modern world history is covered in a companion database, Historical Abstracts.

Humanities Full Text
Covers journal articles in the humanities, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, and religion.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Lexis-Nexis
Lexis Nexis will provide you with full-text from newspapers around the world, for up to the past ten years.

Project Muse
Project Muse covers numerous subject fields in the humanities, the social sciences, and the arts, including history. Journals covered by Project Muse are scholarly and peer-reviewed, published by a not-for-profit press or scholarly society, and be a sensible fit with titles in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts.

ProQuest
ProQuest is a good index to use in the beginning stages of your research project. It is an index that covers major journals in English and many other subjects in which Dickinson College offers a major. It offers access to thousands of periodicals and newspapers, many of which are supplied full-text. ProQuest supplies both scholarly and non-scholarly resources. See your librarian for tips on how to narrow to scholarly topics.

WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.



Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on English in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
REF E740.7 .E53 1996

The Annals of America
REF E173 .A793

A Dictionary of American History
REF E174 .P87 1995

The Reader's Companion to American History
REF E174 .R43 1991

The Oxford Companion to World War II
REF D740 .O94 1995B

A Dictionary of the Second World War
REF D740 .W47 1990

Encyclopedia of the Second World War
REF D740 .H64 1989

The Experience of World War II
REF D743 .E86 1989

The Facts on file D-Day Atlas: The Definitive Account of the Allied Invasion of Normandy
REF D756.5 .N6 M255 1994

World War II: America at War, 1941-1945
REF D743.5 .P56 1991

A World in Turmoil: An Integrated Chronology of the Holocaust and World War II
REF D804.3 .E34 1991

The United States in the First World War: An Encyclopedia
REF D510 .U65 1995

World War II in the Pacific: An Encyclopedia
REF D767 .W68 2000

The Pacific War Encyclopedia
REF D767.9 .D86 1998

Historical Dictionary of the 1920s: From World War I to the New Deal, 1919-1933
REF E784 .O44 1988


Biographies

Print:

Who's Who in America
REF E176 .W642 1899

Biographical Dictionary of World War I
REF D507 .H47 1982

Biographical Dictionary of World War II
REF D736 .B63 1996



Electronic:

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) is the best place to begin a search for information about people. It is an index of reference sources containing biographical information on individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. This index is not full-text, but Dickinson College owns many of the materials referenced in the database. A librarian can help you locate any materials you are having trouble locating.

American National Biography (ANB)
Nearly 20,000 biographies, revised three times per year.

 

 

Bibliographies

A Subject Bibliography of the Second World War, and Aftermath: Books in English, 1975-1987
REF D743 .E56 1990

A Subject Bibliography of the First World War: Books in English, 1914-1987
REF D521 .E58 1990

 

Atlases/Maps

Atlas of the United States
REF G1201 .G1 A76X 1986

Atlas of World War I
REF G1037 .G5 1994

The Times Atlas of the Second World War
REF G1038 .T6 1989



Statistics

World War II: A Statistical Survey: The Essential Facts and Figures for all the Combatants
REF D744 .E45 1993

Primary Resources

100 Key Documents in American Democracy
REF E173 .A15 1994

Additionally, the Library owns the entire run of the New York Times from its inception in 1851.

Foreign Relations Series
The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, includes the Truman through Nixon administrations.

Public Papers of the Presidents
The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Noting the lack of uniform compilations of messages and papers of the Presidents before this time, the Commission recommended the establishment of an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature could be made available. Volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Clinton, and George W. Bush are included in the Public Papers series.

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Documents in law, history and diplomacy. From B.C. through the 21st century.

 

Websites

Women Working, 1870 - 1930
From Harvard University.

AmericanPresident.org
A non-partisan resource on the history and function of the American presidency. Brought to you by the University of Virginia's Miller Center of Public Affairs, the nation's leading research institute for the study of the American presidency.

World War II - A Digital Library
Historica government publications from Southern Methodist University.

Presidential Recordings
From the University of Virginia. Franklin Roosevelt through Nixon.