History Pathfinder: Asia

 

Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some eletronic databases, including Historical Abstracts, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library .

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an electronic index to the world's scholarly literature on modern history. It covers materials treating all aspects of history from 1450 to the present, excluding the history of the United States and Canada. This region is covered in a companion work, America: History & Life . It provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles in books, periodical articles and dissertations. It does not include book reviews. All branches of world history are included with substantial coverage of related subject areas. Articles are abstracted from over 1,700 journals published in over 50 languages. While this is a truly international index, fifty percent of the items are in English. Historical Abstracts currently includes entries for over 500,000 items published from 1971 to the present. It corresponds to the printed index of the same name which extends coverage back to 1955, and is available for use in the library.


Bibliography of Asian Studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies is an electronic index to scholarship on Asia published in western languages since 1971. While all subject areas are included, concentration is on the humanities and social sciences. It indexes books, articles in books, and articles found over 1,000 journals. From 1991 to the present, individually authored books are no longer included. Like many scholarly bibliographies, the coverage of BAS runs behind more popular indexes - comprehensive coverage currently goes through 1991. It corresponds to the print index Bibliography of Asian Studies , call number REF DS5 .B53.

Humanities Full Text
Covers journal articles in the humanities, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, and religion.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Lexis-Nexis
Lexis Nexis will provide you with full-text from newspapers around the world, for up to the past ten years.

Project Muse
Project Muse covers numerous subject fields in the humanities, the social sciences, and the arts, including history. Journals covered by Project Muse are scholarly and peer-reviewed, published by a not-for-profit press or scholarly society, and be a sensible fit with titles in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts.

ProQuest
ProQuest is a good index to use in the beginning stages of your research project. It is an index that covers major journals in English and many other subjects in which Dickinson College offers a major. It offers access to thousands of periodicals and newspapers, many of which are supplied full-text. ProQuest supplies both scholarly and non-scholarly resources. See your librarian for tips on how to narrow to scholarly topics.

WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.





Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on History in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.

Electronic:

Country Studies/Area Handbooks
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army.

 

Print:

Japan: A Global Studies Handbook
REF DS806 .E45 2002

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia

REF DS4 .L48 2002

Korea: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary
REF DS902 .P737 1999

China, A Historical and Cultural Dictionary
REF DS705 .C545 1998G

India 2001: Reference Encyclopedia
REF DS405 .I62 1995

The Cambridge History of Southeast Asia
REF DS525 .T37 1992

The Encyclopedia of Asian History
REF DS31 .E53 1988

Kingdoms of Asia, the Middle East, and Africa: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Ruling Monarchs from Ancient Times to the Present
REF DS32 .G87 1986

The Far East and Australasia
Europa Publications Limited.
REF DS1 .F3

Conflict and Tension in the Far Eas: Key Documents, 1894-1960
REF DS503 .M28 1962

 

Biographies

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is the first place you should look when seeking biographical information on any living or deceased person worldwide. It is an electronic index to over 13 million biographical entries in 3,400+ biographical reference works.

 

Bibliographies

Bibliography of Asian Studies
REF DS5 .B53



Newspapers

Lexis-Nexis will help you find newspaper articles from around the world. Ask a librarian for assistance.



Atlases/Maps

An Historical Atlas of Central Asia
REF G2202.21 .S1 B7 2003

Historical Atlas of South-East Asia

REF G2361 .S1 H5 1995

An Atlas and Survey of South Asian History

REF G2261 .S1 S3 1995

Maps on File
REF G1021 .M33

Statistics

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993

REF HA4675 .M552 1998

Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific
REF JX1977 .A2 SUBSER

Asia Yearbook
REF HC411 .F19