English Pathfinder: Latino Literature

The following lists are not comprehensive. The items listed on this page are representative of some of the most frequently used research materials on this topic. To find more material, consult the library catalog or contact your librarian for assistance.


Indexes

An index is a specialized database that organizes information about the locations of articles in journals/magazines, reports and newspapers; and book chapters, papers in conference proceedings, and book reviews. Indexes provide the complete bibliographic citation of an article, including the title of the article, author, name of the journal, volume number, the pages of the journal in which the article can be found, and a short summary, or abstract, of the article. Some indexes are in book form, and some are electronic databases. Some electronic databases, including MLA, do NOT provide the complete text of articles. For tips on how to effectively search databases, and how to find journals that are not available on-line, contact your librarian, or consult How to Find Materials on English in the Waidner-Spahr Library.

 

Electronic:

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
The premier scholarly index for literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) is the best place to begin a search for information about people. It is an index of reference sources containing biographical information on individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. This index is not full-text, but Dickinson College owns many of the materials referenced in the database. A librarian can help you locate any materials you are having trouble locating.

America: History and Life
Covers scholarly literature on United States and Canadian history. Materials treating all aspects of history from prehistoric times to the present. The rest of modern world history is covered in a companion database, Historical Abstracts.

Essay and General Literature Index
Indexes chapters and essays contained in books of collected works.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
An annoted bibliography to materials on Latin America and covering topics in both the social sciences and humanities.

HAPI Online
Indexes journals published in Mexico, Central and South America and the Caribbean. Also indexes journals published in other countries if the topic includes Latin America or Hispanics in the US.

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers materials treating all aspects of world history, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.

Humanities Full Text
Covers journal articles in the humanities, archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, and religion. This database is a good starting point for research in literature, and may also help you place your topic in social, political, and cultural contexts.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Literary Index
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Critisicm, and Poetry Criticism.

Lexis-Nexis
Lexis Nexis will provide you with full-text from newspapers around the world, for up to the past ten years.

Project Muse
Project Muse covers numerous subject fields in the humanities, the social sciences, and the arts, including history. Journals covered by Project Muse are scholarly and peer-reviewed, published by a not-for-profit press or scholarly society, and be a sensible fit with titles in the humanities, the social sciences and the arts.

 

WorldCat
A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. You can use this database to find out what libraries own material you might need.

 

 

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are helpful in finding basic information about your topic area. They may also serve as sources of inspiration to you as you search for new topics to research. The following list is not comprehensive. Search the library catalog for more encyclopedias and dictionaries. Refer to How to Find Materials on English in the Waidner-Spahr Library for tips on how to best perform a search, or contact your librarian for assistance.

 

Motif-Index of Folk Narratives in the Pan-Hispanic Romancero
REF PQ6091 .G57 2000

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
REF
PQ7081 .A1 C65 2000

U.S. Latino Literature: A Critical Guide for Students and Teachers
REF
PS153 .H56 U7 2000

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
REF
PQ7081 .A1 E53 1997

Masterpieces of Latino Literature
REF
PQ7081 .A1 M29 1994

The Latin American Short Story: An Annotated Guide to Anthologies and Criticism
REF PQ7082 .S5 B35 1992

Handbook of Latin American Literature
REF PQ7081 .A1 H36 1992

American Ethnic Literatures: Native American, African American, Chicano/Latino, and Asian American Writers and Their Backgrounds: An Annotated Bibliography
REF
PS153 .M56 1992

Mexico, Central, and South America: The Scholarly Literature of the 1990s
REF
HC125 .M49 2001

Latin American Literature in the 20th Century: A Guide
REF PQ7081 .L36 1986

Modern Latin American Literature
REF
PQ7081 .F63 1975

 

 

Biographies

 

Print:
Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States
REF PQ7420.2 .K3 1989

Latin American Writers
REF PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989

Electronic:

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is the first place you should look when seeking biographical information on any living or deceased person worldwide. It is an electronic index to over 13 million biographical entries in 3,400+ biographical reference works.

Contemporary Authors

A database that includes biographic details on approximately 100,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Featured are current writers, the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th Century and authors from around the world whose works have been translated into English or published in the United States. Included are the author's writings, media adaptations, works in progress sidelights and interviews.



Dictionary of Literary Biography
The Dictionary of Literary Biography presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.

 

 

Bibliographies

 

U.S. Latino Literature: An Essay and Annotated Bibliography
REF PS153.H56 Z55 1992

Women Authors of Modern Hispanic South America: A Bibliography of Literary Criticism and Interpretation
REF PQ7081 .C94 1989

Bibliographic Guide to Chicana and Latina Narrative
REF Z1229 .M48 L46 2002

Bibliography of Hispanic Women Writers
REF PQ6055 .A45 1980

 

Criticism

 

Print:
Hispanic Literature Criticism
REF PQ7081 .A1 H573 1994

Electronic:

Literary Index
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Critisicm, and Poetry Criticism.

Literature Criticism Online
This index includes several literary criticism series including Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth Century Literature Criticism (TCLC), Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.

 

Websites

 

Literary Resources on the Net
A "meta" site maintained by Rutgers University — Newark.